Governor's Council on Climate Change

The global climate science community overwhelmingly acknowledges a consensus that greenhouse gas emissions associated with human activities are the largest contributor to changes in the climate and that these changes present profound threats to humanity on a global scale. In policy and action, Connecticut has long played a leadership role in developing sound climate practices in New England, in the United States, and globally, as represented in the state's aggressive statutory goals to reduce emissions ten percent below 1990 levels by 2020 and eighty percent below 2001 levels by 2050.

The Governor's Council on Climate Change is charged with facilitating and coordinating efforts among state agencies, businesses, municipalities, and nongovernmental organization to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and make Connecticut more resilient to the effects of climate change. It will do so, in part, by developing interim statewide greenhouse gas reduction targets for years between 2020 and 2050 and by identifying aggressive short- and long-term statewide strategies to achieve the 2050 target.

Council members, listed below in alphabetical order, will serve two year appointments.

Melody Currey, Commissioner, Department of Administrative Services

Katie Dykes, Chair, Public Utilities Regulatory Authority

Michael Sullivan, Acting Undersecretary for Comprehensive Planning and Intergovernmental Policy, Office of Policy and Management (serving on behalf of Secretary Barnes)

Bryan Garcia, President and Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Green Bank

T.J. Hanson, Product Director, Thule Inc.

John Humphries, Connecticut Roundtable for Climate and Jobs

Rob Klee [Council Chair], Commissioner, Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

David Kooris, Director, Rebuild by Design and National Disaster Resilience, Connecticut Department of Housing (serving on behalf of Commissioner Klein)

James O'Donnell, Executive Director, Connecticut Institute for Resilience and Climate Adaptation

James Redeker, Commissioner, Department of Transportation

David Robinson, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.

Catherine Smith, Commissioner, Department of Economic and Community Development

Lynn Stoddard, Director, Institute for Sustainable Energy at Eastern Connecticut State University

Claire Coleman, Climate and Energy Attorney, Connecticut Fund for the Environment

Katharine Wade, Commissioner, Connecticut Insurance Department